■TV PRIEST | TVプリースト、2/10発売のアルバム『UPPERS(アッパーズ)』より「Press Gang」のビデオを公開。

TV Priest - Press Gang [OFFICIAL VIDEO]

What people have been saying about TV Priest:
“Fuzzed-out post punk from London four-piece on debut LP… harsh, brittle eruptions offering up a variety of teeth-rattling noises.” [Uppers] Uncut

Ragged yet tight, sprawling yet focussed, it’s a singular vision of a disparate time. It rounds up most of the usual suspects of our Un-united Kingdom, the pop culture, the insularity, the lies on the side of a bus, but manages to breathe new life into those old tropes by sheer force of personality. [Uppers, ★★★★] - DORK

“The post-punk band have caught attention with a string of superb singles, exemplifying their scorching post-punk sound.” - CLASH

“Vocalist Charlie Drinkwater scrolls endlessly as his country fades into irrelevance on British band TV Priest’s latest fiery missive.” [“This Island”/ “20 Best Rock Songs Right Now, Aug.”] - The FADER

“They fit in with the post-punk revival - sultry, prophetic lyricism with brash instrumentation…” [“This Island”] - Brooklyn Vegan

“Scorching” [“This Island”] - DIY

“The track’s distorted organs serve as riled-up opening remarks before gruelling dark vocals spit out patriotic cliches and commemorative Latin phrases. “This is not my national anthem” sneers Charlie Drinkwater over a fuzzy echo of the Star-Spangled Banner. Thrashing industrial guitars smash any sense of security.” [“House of York”] - The Line Of Best Fit

“’This Island’ is a densely packed ball of energy, and their occasional spillovers of momentum are exhilarating.” - PASTE

“A frenzied anthem.”[“House of York”] - Earmilk

“A riotous debut single… finding a balance of subtlety and decisive awakening that’s fed through the laconic, abstract drawl of Charlie Drinkwater, seamlessly subverting into a deafening anthem in itself.” [“House of York”] - So Young

“Their sound is ultimately chaotic, with cuts of fuzzy distortion creating a disorienting and thrilling listening experience.” [“House of York”] - Gigwise

2021.2.10 ON SALE


■アーティスト:TV PRIEST(TVプリースト)
■発売元:ビッグ・ナッシング / ウルトラ・ヴァイヴ
1. The Big Curve
2. Press Gang
3. Leg Room
4. Journal of a Plague Year
5. History Week
6. Decoration
7. Slideshow
8. Fathers and Sons
9. The ref
10. Powers of Ten
11. This Island
12. Saintless

TV Priest - Decoration [OFFICIAL VIDEO]

『Uppers』は昨今のUKでの猛烈なポストパンクの復活を継続させる冒頭陳述だ。離れ離れになる前の10代の頃に一緒に音楽を作っていた4人の幼馴染、Charlie Drinkwater(Vo)、Alex Sprogis(G)、Nic Bueth(B/Key)、Ed Kelland(Dr)の4人は2019年、再び集まった。TV Priestは、音楽をもう一度一緒にクリエイトする、という必然からまさに誕生した。しかし、彼らは実生活や仕事を数年間おこなってきたので、そこにはティーンの頃にはなかった豊富な経験や苦悩が込められるようになった。バンドは2019年11月、初めてのショーを実施。世界的なパンデミックの中、2020年の春にファースト・シングルをリリースした。The FallやProtomartyrから影響を受け、クラウトロックのグルーヴをもった彼らのサウンドには手つかずのエネルギーが存在する。そして、本物のフロントマン、Charlieの面白く、怒りにあふれ、混乱したヴォーカルが、そこにのる。当初はUKのレーベル、Hand in Hiveより2020年の秋にリリース予定だったデビュー・アルバム『Uppers』は2021年2月、Sub Popよりリリースされる。


2021-01-07 : Sub Pop :
« next  ホーム  prev »