■POM POKO | Gigwise(8/10)、Backseat Mafia(9/10)、The Scotsman★★★★☆、The Irish Times★★★★☆、The Irish News(8/10)。ポン・ポコ、ニュー・アルバム『CHEATER(チーター)』、1/20、リリース。

“Wonderfully riotous… Packed full of angelic voices, funky bass tones and heavy guitar riffs, Cheater is a brilliantly mish-mashed blending of genres… Pom Poko are packed with youthful abandonment and talent, leaving them as one of the most exciting bands emerging from the current musical crop.” Gigwise - 8/10

“A glorious mix of frantic and fun… Pom Poko are one of those acts that are a joy to witness live and with Cheater, they have managed to harness that energy.” The Line Of Best Fit - 7/10

“Pom Poko are making the kind of spry indie-pop that leaps over genre-labels, while conveying a youthful zest that nearly every other band operating these days is incapable of displaying.” A Pessimist Is Never Disappointed

"Norway's Pom Poko are chaotic very good with their new album, Cheater. Embracing a fuzzy collegiate quality, it's an immediate, strong foot for the band to start 2021 with… Cheater manages to balance the fuzzy production logic with heartfelt, cheery pop hooks.” Backseat Mafia – 9/10

"The grungey pop of Cheater, the seductive pop melody of Andrew and the invigorating sprint of My Candidacy blow the cobwebs away and help beat the January blues.” The Scotsman – 4 Stars****

"They’re an absolute thrill, a shot of pure adrenaline… Cheater uses their experimental blueprint to dazzling effect.” The Wee Review

“A fun album… what better way is there to blow away the post-Christmas malaise than with some daisy-fresh indie-rock?” Live4Ever – 7/10

"Cheater is a heady brew of pop, punk and grunge with offbeat song structures, and you never quite know which way any of these songs are going to swing within the course of three minutes.” The Irish Times – 4 Stars****

"On the surface, Cheater channels Blur at their most drugged-up or the spiky indifference of New York art-rockers Television. But dig underneath and a more melodic, even poppy, sound emerges. Pom Poko are a favourite of coronavirus-era tastemaker Tim Burgess. They might be your new favourite too.” The Irish News – 8/10

2020.11.11 ON SALE
2021.1.20 ON SALE


■アーティスト:POM POKO(ポン・ポコ)
■発売元:ビッグ・ナッシング / ウルトラ・ヴァイヴ
1. Cheater
2. Like A Lady
3. Andrew
4. My Candidacy
5. Danger Baby
6. Andy Go To School
7. Look
8. Baroque Denial
9. Curly Romance
10. Body Level

Pom Poko – Andrew

Pom Poko – My Candidacy

Pom Pokoはニュー・アルバム『Cheater』を2020年11月6日2021年1月にBella Unionからリリースすることをアナウンスし、ファースト・シングル「Andrew」を公開した。『Cheater』はファースト・アルバム後にリリースされた2曲(「Leg Day」と「Praise」)と同時期に書かれ、Marcus Forsgren(Jaga Jazzist、Broen、Arc Iris)との共同レコーディング/プロデュース作となる。Pom Pokoは異なる四つの個性が異なる方向に動きながらも、一つの目的地に向かっている様なサウンドを持つ。このスタイルはRagnhild Fangel(V)、Martin Miguel Tonne(G)、Jonas Krøvel(B)、Ola Djupvik(Dr)の4人がノルウェーのトロンヘイムで行われた文学フェスティヴァルでのジャズのショーの間にパンクをプレイする為に集まった時に生まれた(4人はジャズを学んでいた)。バンド名とスピリットを日本のスタジオジブリの映画『平成狸合戦ぽんぽこ』からとり、2019年のデビュー・アルバム『Birthday』でPom Pokoは痙攣するかのような個性を披露した。その間、バンドはNME、DIY、PopMatters、The Line Of Best Fit、The Independent、BBC Radio 6 Music等から絶賛され、スペルマン賞(ノルウェーのグラミー賞)の2部門とノルディック・ミュージック賞(ノルウェーのマーキュリー賞)にノミネートされた。


2021-01-18 : Bella Union :
« next  ホーム  prev »