■JOHN GRANT | ジョン・グラント、UKトップ10ヒットを記録したニュー・アルバム『Boy From Michigan』より、ニュー・シングル「County Fair」のビデオを公開。ビデオの監督はジョナサン・カウエット。

John Grant - County Fair (Official Video)

John Grant は、2021年6月にBella Unionからリリースされたニュー・アルバム『Boy From Michigan』より、ニュー・シングル「County Fair」のビデオを公開した。ビデオの監督はJonathan Caouetteが手掛けた。自身5枚目のアルバムとなる『Boy From Michigan』はUKチャートの8位を記録。高い評価を獲得した。

“Boy From Michigan affirms John Grant as one of the great singer-songwriters of our time. If there’s a centre ground between the songcraft of Elton John and the sonic experimentalism of Kraftwerk then Grant claims it for his own. His fifth solo album is a work of great power and beauty.” Daily Telegraph – 4 stars **** (Album Of The Week)

“Boy From Michigan is Grant’s futuristic vision of his past, filtered through his bleak, witty, lacerating worldview. And it is a delight.” The Times – 4 stars **** (Album Of The Week)

“Boy From Michigan has the American fusing the piano-led chamber pop of his early releases with the jagged electronica of his more recent work. Produced by Cate Le Bon, it is dependably doleful and caustic as the singer shines unforgiving light on his troubled upbringing and the cruel joke that is the American dream. On ‘Mike and Julie’, clarinet and synth decorate a lyric about Grant’s first lover, with tenderness and regret coming together in one of his most beautiful melodies.” Sunday Times – Album Of The Week

“Boy From Michigan is Grant in panoramic mode, looking back and looking forward to create his biggest picture yet.” MOJO – 4 stars ****

“Vangelis meets Harry Nilsson” Uncut – 8/10

“An expansive and frequently exquisite summation of Grant’s storytelling powers... Boy From Michigan develops as a multi-layered and resonant coming-of-age story-in-songs... These songs cut to the quick with character and feeling, wit and precision.” Record Collector – 4 stars ****

“He takes the idea of pop-as-autobiography to new heights on his remarkable new record” The i News – 4 stars ****

“Formative memories weigh heavy on the dreamy, clarinet-haunted textures of Mike and Julie; the lush, impressionistic amble through the stalls on County Fair, couched in Cocteau Twins guitar glimmer and Beach Boys harmonies, and the Scott Walker-esque piano melancholy of The Cruise Room.” The Observer

“Wildly ambitious and emphatically realised, the new songs represent an ideal marriage of Grant’s strengths – soaring piano-led balladry and angular, rhythmic synth workouts.” The Sun – 4 stars ****

“A brooding reflection on childhood, the auteur expertly taps into Eno and Moroder for sonic inspiration.” Sunday Express – 4 stars ****

“John Grant excels at looking backwards in his songs. His voice is warm and resonant, rising and falling in time to the music like the tidal pull of memories. Luxuriant melodies cast a golden glow over these songs while analogue synthesisers pulse and swoosh like vintage time-travelling contraptions.” Financial Times

“A gorgeously observed working through of personal and national demons.” Loud & Quiet

“A record filled with retro synths and Grant’s lush vocals... Engrossing and bewitching.” Classic Pop

“A beauty... this meditation on an American life holds nothing back” HiFi Choice – 4 stars ****

2021.6.30 ON SALE


■アーティスト:JOHN GRANT(ジョン・グラント)
■タイトル:BOY FROM MICHIGAN(ボーイ・フロム・ミシガン)
1. Boy From Michigan
2. County Fair
3. The Rusty Bull
4. The Cruise Room
5. Mike And Julie
6. Best In Me
7. Rhetorical Figure
8. Just So You Know
9. Dandy Star
10. Your Portfolio
11. The Only Baby
12. Billy

John Grant - Boy from Michigan

John Grant - The Only Baby (Official Lyric Video)

●John Grantは社会的少数者の立場から、偉大なミュージシャンとしての地位を確立した。12歳の時、Grantはデンバーに移り、ミシガンの少年ではなくなった。「アメリカのカースト制について全てを学んだ。そして僕がどこに位置づけられるのかも理解した」と彼は語る。John Grantのアルバムは常に詩集から導き出された小作品のように感じる。『Boy from Michigan』は作者のシャギー・ドッグ・ストーリー(荒唐無稽な話)だ。それぞれの曲は、リサイクル・ショップで手に入れた革製の本のチャプター(章)のようになっており、小説的なアプローチがとられている。「自分はどこからきてどうなったのか、ということだけを考えているだけのように思う」と彼は語る。Cate Le Bonをプロデューサーに迎え、Grantはギミックを削ぎ落した。そして、メロディのエモーショナルなインパクトを最大化し、ボードビルのノイズを取り除き、自らが住む為の実り多く、倹約で、奇妙に組織化された新しい世界を高めたのだ。
●米ミシガン出身のシンガーソングライター、John Grantはデンバーのロック・バンド、The Czarsのメンバーとして活動した後、ソロに転向。2010年にデビュー・アルバム『Queen of Denmark』をリリースした。2013年のセカンド・アルバム『Pale Green Ghosts』が高い評価を獲得し、2015年のサード・アルバム『Grey Tickles, Black Pressure』は全英チャートで5位を記録。2018年にはWranglerのメンバー、Benge(Ben Edwards)とコラボレートした4枚目のアルバム『Love Is Magic』をリリースした。


2021-07-09 : Bella Union :
« next  ホーム  prev »